Browse By

A brief primer for the Beloit ballot



It’s easy to forget that when you head to the ballot box you’re responsible for voting for a variety of candidates, not just those running for president. Local candidates are notoriously difficult to find information on, so The Round Table is doing its best to provide you with a helpful ballot primer for District 45.

The full list of US Presidential candidates (listed in order of appearance on ballot):
Donald J. Trump (R); Hillary Clinton (D); Darrell L. Castle (Constitution Party); Gary Johnson (Libertarian Party); Jill Stein (Green Party); Monica Moorehead (Workers World Party); Rocky Roque De La Fuente (American Delta Party).

U.S. Senate:

Ron Johnson

Ron Johnson

Ron Johnson (R) Supports the national minimum wage of $7.25. Denies that climate change is linked to human actions. Does not support licensing or registering guns. Opposed to same-sex marriage. Pro-life, except in cases of incest, rape, or cases where a mother’s life is at risk. Senator from 2011 to 2016.   

Russ Feingold (D) Supports a move towards $15 minimum wage. Only senator to vote against the Patriot Act during its first legislative vote. Opposed NAFTA. Opposes TPP. Opposes the death penalty. Supports background checks for handgun purchases. Pro-choice. Senator from 1993 to 2011, lost to Ron Johnson in 2010.

Russ Feingold

Russ Feingold

Congressional Representative, District 2:
Peter Theron (R) Stated military agenda: “We must rebuild our military, defeat terrorism, and foster democracy. As every child in the schoolyard knows, strength does not provoke bullies, weakness does. No one hassles the captain of the football team.” Repeal Obamacare. Rollback federal regulations and cap federal spending. Pro-life. Opposed to same-sex marriage. Lost to Mark Pocan in 2014 election.

Mark Pocan (D) Pro-choice. Raise the minimum wage. Invest in green-technology. Improve pay equality for women. Improve treatment of Muslim citizens. Lower prescription drug costs. Increase corporate transparency and accountability. District Two Representative since 2012.

Mark Spreitzer

Mark Spreitzer

Representative to the Assembly District 45:
Mark Spreitzer (D) Running uncontested.

District Attorney:
David J. O’Leary (D) Running uncontested.

County Clerk:
Lisa Tollefson (D) Running uncontested.

County Treasurer:
Wendy Stewart (R) Hopes to bring “accuracy, accountability, and accessibility” to the Treasurer’s Office.

Michelle L. Roettger (D) Has worked for six years in the Treasurer’s Office as an Account Clerk for almost six years.

Question: Shall the County of Rock, adopt the following resolution?

Resolved that “We the People” of the County of  Rock, Wisconsin, seek to reclaim democracy from the expansion of corporate personhood rights and the corrupting influence of unregulated political contributions and spending.  We stand with communities across the country to support passage of an amendment to the United States Constitution stating:

  1. Only human beings are endowed with constitutional rights- not corporations,unions, nonprofits or other artificial entities, and
  2. Money is not speech, and therefore regulating political contributions and spending is not equivalent to limiting speech.

(Yes or No).

Sources: Wisconsin State Journal, House.Gov,, The Cap Times,, Gazette Xtra,,,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.